For 24 hours.

Thisproject was a culmination of a million ideas, catalyzed by a millionmore questions that I’d been asking for quite some time. Some of themsounded like this:

Iwanted to see if I could get a bigger picture, so-to-speak, by enduring24 hours of self-portraiture. I’d been feeling that time isa marginalized aspect and warped within imagery. In order to create oneimage, we aren’t able to see the work it took to get to that point. Inmovies, two hours can represent a decade. Woulda viewer glean more by seeing the day pass by? What would I see withinmyself? This would be my photographic sculpture, of sorts. I called it‘shooting in the round.’

“Why do we photograph at certain times of day?”

“What association do we have with different kinds of light and why?”

“What do we think, as a society, should be seen when creating an image?”

“Who do we think, as a society, should be seen when creating an image?”

“How do I fit into the work that I do?”

Throughoutthe 24 hours, I got to document the ups and downs that I personallyface regularly. It was equally empowering and sometimes embarrassing, but I finally got to see me within all of this work that I create.

Story by Ashley Batz, styling by Olya Dzilikhova — Feel the art of the Bay Area in our art + makers tab. Meet the peeps who rule personal essays while you’re at it.

One Photographer s 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery - 44One Photographer s 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery - 75One Photographer s 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery - 18One Photographer s 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery - 19One Photographer s 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery - 32One Photographer s 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery - 7One Photographer s 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery - 84One Photographer s 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery - 74One Photographer s 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery - 35


title: “One Photographer S 24 Hour Photo Expose Turns Into A Day Of Self Discovery” ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-25” author: “Michael Vela”


For 24 hours.

Thisproject was a culmination of a million ideas, catalyzed by a millionmore questions that I’d been asking for quite some time. Some of themsounded like this:

Iwanted to see if I could get a bigger picture, so-to-speak, by enduring24 hours of self-portraiture. I’d been feeling that time isa marginalized aspect and warped within imagery. In order to create oneimage, we aren’t able to see the work it took to get to that point. Inmovies, two hours can represent a decade. Woulda viewer glean more by seeing the day pass by? What would I see withinmyself? This would be my photographic sculpture, of sorts. I called it‘shooting in the round.’

“Why do we photograph at certain times of day?”

“What association do we have with different kinds of light and why?”

“What do we think, as a society, should be seen when creating an image?”

“Who do we think, as a society, should be seen when creating an image?”

“How do I fit into the work that I do?”

Throughoutthe 24 hours, I got to document the ups and downs that I personallyface regularly. It was equally empowering and sometimes embarrassing, but I finally got to see me within all of this work that I create.

Story by Ashley Batz, styling by Olya Dzilikhova — Feel the art of the Bay Area in our art + makers tab. Meet the peeps who rule personal essays while you’re at it.